AutoBild sportscars 6/2017

12.06.2017

Volvo is renewing its model range at record speed: following the XC90 and before the XC60, it was the S90 and V90. HEICO is keeping pace – and is now tuning the V90 D5.

At times, they are almost lost in the frazzle and hubbub of the stated overweight SUV: attractive and efficient, large, practical station wagons. With the V90, Volvo has a new loadmaster in its portfolio – for which finisher HEICO provides a selective makeover program.
 
Longitudinal dynamics: The performance enhancement implemented by a supplementary control unit generates a subtle 23hp power increase and no less than 50 Nm more torque. In doing so, the HEICO V90 fulfills one’s exact expectations of a Volvo: sovereign, but never overpowered. Thanks to its spontaneous response characteristics, the diesel car has a vigorous feel to it, its engine revving up calmly but powerfully. Due to the lack of exactly matching measurements, we used the results of a past test of a series-built S90 – the V90’s limousine counterpart – as the basis of our comparison: the HEICO model is two tenths of a second faster from 0-100 km/h, and four tenths of a second faster in reaching 160 km/h. The top speed remains unchanged at 240 km/h – a somewhat intellectual value, as hours seem to pass until reaching that speed.
 
Transverse dynamics: Lowering springs reduce the height of the 4WD by 30 millimeters with little change to the handling characteristics; these remain solid and not especially sporty. Steering is typical of Volvo: smooth and insensitive.
 
Emotion: Anyone who is not entirely averse to Scandinavian flair cannot fail to like the V90. HEICO upgrades the car skillfully with a few, selected measures: while the 20” wheels are also offered ex works, the 21” wheels to be offered shortly will be exclusive to the HEICO model. The active-sound loudspeaker masks deftly, but not too intrusively, the sound of the diesel engine.
 
Every-day use: Top marks: no restrictions whatsoever in day-to-day usage, and technical compliance (TÜV) and guarantee are absolutely OK.
 
Cost / performance ratio: For its all-round respectable tuning, HEICO charges sprightly but in no way exorbitant prices.

Conclusion: Large wheels and a four-pipe exhaust provide for a welcome cosmetic boost – the other benefits of the subtle tuning package cannot be regarded as profuse: the likable Volvo offers slightly better acceleration and no longer sounds like a diesel. But even with tuning, it continues to give a relaxed ride without any seriously sporty ambitions.

AutoBild sportscars 6/2017

12.05.2017

Volvo erneuert im Rekordtempo die Modellpalette: Nach XC90 und vor XC60 waren S90 und V90 dran. HEICO SPORTIV hält Schritt – und tunt jetzt den V90 D5.

Bisweilen gehen sie in dem ganzen Trubel um angesagte überfette SUV fast unter: große, praktische Kombis, formschön und effizient. Volvo hat mit dem V90 jetzt einen neuen Lademeister im Sortiment – den Veredler HEICO gezielt aufhübscht.

Längsdynamik: Die Leistungssteigerung per Zusatzsteuergerät bringt zarte 23 Mehr-PS und immerhin 50 Newtonmeter mehr Drehmoment. Damit fühlt sich der HEICO V90 so an, wie es sich für einen Volvo geziemt: souverän, aber niemals übermotorisiert. Dank des spontanen Ansprechverhaltens wirkt der Selbstzünder lebhaft, der Motor dreht unaufgeregt und kraftvoll hoch. Mangels exakt passender Messwerte ziehen wir zum Vergleich einen von uns getesteten serienmäßigen S90 heran – das Limousinen-Pendant des V90. Dem knöpft der HEICO bis 100 km/h zwei Zehntel ab, bis 160 sind’s deren vier. Die Höchstgeschwindigkeit bleibt unverändert bei 240 km/h. Dabei handelt es sich um einen recht theoretischen Wert – es vergehen gefühlt Stunden, bis das Auto ihn erreicht.

Querdynamik: Tieferlegungsfedern senken den Allradler um 30 Millimeter ab, am Fahrverhalten ändern sie wenig: Das bleibt gediegen und wenig sportlich. Lenkung typisch Volvo: leichtgängig und gefühllos.

Emotion: Wer sich gegenüber skandinavischem Flair nicht gänzlich abgeneigt zeigt, muss den V90 mögen. HEICO wertet das Auto mit wenigen gezielten Maßnahmen gekonnt auf: Die angebotene 20-Zoll- Radgröße gibt’s zwar auch ab Werk, die in Kürze angebotenen 21-Zöller hat HEICO dann aber exklusiv. Der Active-Sound-Lautsprecher übertüncht gekonnt, aber nicht zu aufdringlich den Diesellärm.

Alltag: Bestnote: keinerlei Einschränkungen im täglichen Betrieb, TÜV und Garantie passen.

Preis/Leistung: Für sein rundum seriöses Tuning ruft HEICO selbstbewusste, aber keinesfalls überhöhte Preise auf.

Fazit: Große Räder und Vierrohrauspuff sind willkommene Kosmetik – die weiteren Auswirkungen des dezenten Tuningpakets sind überschaubar: Der sympathische Volvo beschleunigt ein bisschen besser und klingt nicht mehr nach Diesel. Aber auch mit Tuning bleibt er ein tiefenentspannter Gleiter, dem ernsthafte sportliche Ambitionen fremd sind.